31 Years – Two Moms in 1998


– Stepmom –

Honorable Mentions: A Bug’s Life, Rush Hour, Saving Private Ryan

Any movie about a dying parent can make me weepy but this movie came out long before I had to face that in real life. I saw this movie during my major crush on Julia Roberts. When the movie came out, I cared more about seeing her on the screen much more than I cared about the substance of the film.

Having a great relationship with a step-parent, I found it hard to relate to the angst of the kids as they dealt with having two moms. What drew me to the film was the strong relationship between the kids and their mom, something that was very familiar to me.

Even thinking about the feelings in the movie, the idea of losing a parent, gets me emotional. Being a parent myself, the movie makes even more sense. It makes me cherish what I had with my deceased mom and what I hope to build with my small son.

ICONIC LINE:
Isabel: You know every story, every wound, every memory. Their whole life’s happiness is wrapped up in you… every single second. Don’t you get it? Look down the road to her wedding. I’m in a room alone with her, fixing her veil, fluffing her dress, telling her no woman has ever looked so beautiful. And my fear is she’ll be thinking, “I wish my mom was here.”
Jackie: And mine is… she won’t.

 

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close