31 Years – Top 5 in 2000

– High Fidelity –

Honorable Mentions: Almost Famous, Best in Show, Return to Me

Full disclosure: I didn’t actually see this film in 2000.

It came to me later in life, but it showed up at just the right time…I was falling in love with vinyl and gaining cynical perspective on love and romance. Watching John Cusack’s Rob analyze and disseminate love and his own imperfections wrapped around a killer soundtrack spoke volumes to me in my own life.

I love this movie because, to me, it is just so perfect. Seeing Jack Black being his quirkiest is definitely a perk of this film as well.

Bottom line: If you want a twist on the typical romantic story, this is for you.

ICONIC LINE:
Rob:
What came first, the music or the misery? People worry about kids playing with guns, or watching violent videos, that some sort of culture of violence will take them over. Nobody worries about kids listening to thousands, literally thousands of songs about heartbreak, rejection, pain, misery and loss. Did I listen to pop music because I was miserable? Or was I miserable because I listened to pop music?

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close