Exactly where I want to be in 2004

– Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind –

Honorable Mentions: Napoleon Dynamite, Million Dollar Baby, Garden State

If I could pinpoint where my tastes diverged into quirky indie films, this is the movie that started me on the way. If I am ever asked about my favorite movies, this one comes up almost instantly.

To date, it is my favorite “dramatic” Jim Carrey and while I didn’t care for Titanic, this movie made me rewind on the Kate Winslet catalogue and start my love for almost everything she does!

The plot is unique: As a man tries to erase the memories of the girl who broke his heart, he begins to realize how much he wants to hold onto her. The movie takes you through highs and lows of their relationship as you try and connect the dots.

Really, it’s just a solid movie. If you’re looking for a break from the standard love story, give this one a go.

ICONIC LINE:
Joel: I could die right now, Clem. I’m just… happy. I’ve never felt that before. I’m just exactly where I want to be.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close