31 Years – Building a Home in 2001

– Life as a House –

Honorable Mentions: Josie and the Pussycats, Ocean’s 11, Rat Race

The premise of this film is simple: George (Kevin Kline) discovers that he is terminally ill and decides to do right by his ex-wife and estranged son Sam (played by a pre-Star Wars Hayden Christensen). As someone with dad issues, it was an instant click.

Again, this was one of those movies that I saw when I started to “grow up” and define myself on my terms. While you can make easy assumptions about how the movie is going to end, the journey getting there is amazing. You may certainly cry in this film, but I can promise it’ll be a good cry.

ICONIC LINE
George:
You know the great thing, though, is that change can be so constant you don’t even feel the difference until there is one. It can be so slow that you don’t even notice that your life is better or worse, until it is. Or it can just blow you away, make you something different in an instant. It happened to me.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close